Board of Directors

The South Dakota State Orthopaedic Society Board of Directors is composed of six (6) members. The Board of Directors is comprised of the President, President-Elect, Secretary-Treasurer, Past President, Member-at-Large and the Board of Councilors Representative. The Executive Director serves on the Board in an ex-officio capacity. The officers of the Society are elected annually by the Members at the annual meeting and hold office until successors are duly elected and qualified.

Executive Director

Keri Talcott

PO Box 517
Harrisburg, SD 57032
Ph: 605-275-5350
[email protected]


Casey Johnston, MD

Watertown, SD

Immediate Past President

Chad Kurtenbach, MD

Sioux Falls, SD

Matthew K. Wingate, MD

President Elect

Matthew Wingate, MD

Sioux Falls, SD


Nathan Skelley, MD

Sioux Falls, SD

MD Member-At-Large

Patrick O’Brien, MD

Sioux Falls, SD

Board of Councilors Representative

R. Blake Curd, MD

Sioux Falls, SD

SD State Medical Society Representative

Robert Van Demark Jr., MD

Sioux Falls, SD

Past Presidents of the SDSOS Board of Directors

Past President 2022-2023

Chad Kurtenbach, MD

Sanford Orthopedics & Sports Medicine
Sioux Falls, SD

Past President 2021-2022

Daniel Nelson, MD

Dakota Dunes, SD

Past President 2020-2021

Steven Giuseffi, MD

Black Hills Orthopedic & Spine Center
Rapid City, SD

Past President 2019-2020

Keith Baumgarten, MD

Orthopedic Institute
Sioux Falls, SD

Past President 2018-2019

Greg Alvine, MD

Orthopedic Institute, Core Orthopedics
Sioux Falls, SD

Past President 2017-2018

Geoffrey Haft, MD

Sandford Orthopedics & Sports Medicine
Sioux Falls, SD